handwritten

ever since i was a kid i’ve been working on my writing.  perfecting different styles and searching for cool new fonts to explore.  lately i’ve been embracing the scanner and using my writing as the main thrust behind my designs…

while i usually only post finished projects… this is a scrap of paper from college that displays my love for handwritten type.  below you’ll find the names of some amazing artists who were in the seats next to me, what i was hungry for, and apparently the title of the class i was in at the time:

below is another example from a church youth flyer which is probably even older then my classroom doodles:

and here’s a few drafts from a recent branding campaign i worked on at my church:

my years of drawing out letters has also really inspired me to look at how letters fit together even with computer generated type faces.  last year i worked with a local school’s cheer leading teams to come up with a look that had some spunk to it and this alteration to Rockwell ended up being just what they were looking for:

for the last year i have been procrastinating on my calligraphy and developing a few new fonts… but hopefully this will serve as a reminder for me to get back at it.

you’ll can see more of my work with type in some of my previous entries (especially the youth calendars: here and here) and hopefully there will be much more coming in the future.

Leave a Reply

